The idea of royalty has always been intriguing to me, considering how much power and responsibility is handed to individuals based simply upon royal blood. I associate royalty with words like regal, proper, and untouchable… But whether positive or negative, a dynamic forms between the ruled and the rulers, and each side has its own untold stories. I’d like to study the evolution of royalty, especially focusing on England’s royal history ranging from the Anglo-Saxons to the Tudors, to present-day Windsors. I’m not entirely sure yet how I’ll connect these rulers from different times, but I think it’d be interesting to explore the link not only between individual royals but also the public’s opinion and expectations of royals during these times. Some of the sources I’m considering are Macbeth (Shakespeare in general), The Three Musketeers, Beowulf, Mrs. Brown (looking into Queen Victoria and Albert), and The Madness of King George (play to film). If possible I might also tie in King Arthur and Princess Diana.  Hopefully more specific ideas to come soon!